Embracing Ordinariness

In an e-mail I recently received from my good friend Chrystal, the tail end of a quote she shared really stuck out at me: “…embracing any ordinariness that God permits.” (The quote is from the book, Silent Songs of Worship: God’s Tabernacle Within Us by Terri L. Terry. (On a completely random tangent, I just had to laugh at the thought of this author introducing herself… “Hi, I’m Terri Terry.”)

The author was talking about the secret to true humility, which is the secret to true worship.

Just after reading that one quote, I’m itching to get my hands on that book and read it. One reason being I know I have a big problem with humility. I don’t naturally embrace the ordinary in myself – I chase after the opposite. I have a desire to elevate myself above others by showing off or hiding my flaws and oddities… this is not a good thing nor something I am proud of! It’s a desire I want to get rid of. In fact, all too often I find myself mentally scolding, “Kim, the only reason you want to share that story is to draw attention to yourself, so don’t share it.” I could go on and on about how it stems from an old desire for popularity in the face of blah blah blah. It doesn’t matter.

So, I want to begin embracing the ordinary in myself – publicly on this blog – in an effort to humiliate myself…. er… become humble. (Isn’t that the same thing to some extent?) Am I going to regret this? Haha. Maybe.

I was going to kick off this humbling experience by sharing something…. but my son is KNOCKING on his door, which means he woke up from his nap and it’s time to visit daddy at work for lunch.

Until next time… embrace your ordinariness! (And if you do so on your blog, send me the link and I will share it here.)

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “Embracing Ordinariness

  1. Hi! Stopping by from MBC. Great blog.

Leave a Reply

