No More Monkeys Jumping Out Of Bed

Micah must have gotten the memo that he is officially a toddler now because today was a day for milestones. First of all, he is cutting two teeth at once – a top right molar and his bottom right lateral incisor. He has been chewing on everything, including my clothes and the furniture. Then this morning I caught him trying to climb out of his crib! I instantly had visions of him toppling out in the middle of the night and crashing to the floor. Right before his nap, I took the rail off his crib and converted it to a toddler bed. Of course he fell out when he woke up. So for bedtime I put our futon mattress on the floor underneath his crib. That way if he falls out tonight, he will only plop down onto another soft surface. Who knows, he may even sleep through it. So far, he has been asleep for 2 1/2 hours and he has not fallen out. Crossing my fingers…

Peacefully napping just moments before waking and crashing into the pillows below.

But, because I am a mother and I naturally worry, Eric’s parents are bringing us a spare twin mattress tomorrow night, which I will put on the floor in place of his crib/toddler bed. He has slept on this particular mattress during his naps at their house, so I already know he likes it, plus I will not worry about him falling and getting scared in the middle of the night. The nice thing about a twin mattress is the fact that he will have a lot more room to toss and turn (which is does quite a bit), and transitioning him to a normal bed will be easy. We’ll simply add a box spring when he’s 2 and a bed frame when he’s 4 — or something along those lines.

Since I was already switching things up in his room, I decided to do a little rearranging to prevent him from climbing onto the window. My arm chair was by his window and so I needed to move that away so he couldn’t use it as a “ladder.” I also had to make room for his new toys!

Notice how he just tipped over his Diaper Genie...

Next we’ll be bolting all the furniture to the wall. He’s a little monkey!

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Home

4 responses to “No More Monkeys Jumping Out Of Bed

  1. This is the cutest! I’m a new mother as of March 4, 2010 and I totally relate to this worrying mom thing! lol I find myself having visions too, I guess that’s just our motherly instinct! I nurse my baby girl so for right now I just keep her in the bed with my hubby and I, but I see this problem will be arising sooner than later lol Look forward to following you!
    -Nicole

  2. Oh how I can relate! I feel for you. My son was (and still is at 6 yrs) such a monkey. I worried about him so much when he learned how to climb out of his crib – and even back in. My son learned to climb everything in sight before he even learned to walk.
    If your little guy is a monkey now, chances are, he will be for life. The bad news…lots of worries (mom’s never stop worrying no matter how big their kids get). The good news…these so called “Monkey boys” are soooooo much fun!

  3. lol- For a moment, I thought your dieper changer was a very tall bunk bed for toddlers- I was worried!

    My little ones all ended up on crib mattresses in the end, on the floor, to save injuries!

    nice blog- found you at mom blog club.

  4. Jeffrey Teeple

    Very interesting blog post thank you for sharing I have added your site to my favorites and will check back.

Leave a Reply

