Peanuts Are Evil

Considering how much I love peanut butter, it’s going to be really hard for me to accept that it is something that can hurt my little boy. Today he tried his very first peanut butter and jelly sandwich, and everything was going well until, ten minutes later…

He started itching his eyes and ears quite a bit, and then he broke out in hives. It seemed to clear up a little bit after washing him up, but it was far from over. The worst came when it really got into his system…

Hives spread all over this body. His skin, especially under his arms and around his diaper area, turned bright red and bumps appeared everywhere. He was scratching his belly and crying. I gave him a cool bath and called the pediatrician. Unfortunately all I can do is give him Benadryl and wait it out. I’m so glad he has not experienced any respiratory symptoms, otherwise we’d be headed to the doctor or the ER.

It’s just so hard to see him suffer like this. Tomorrow is his birthday – I hope he is feeling better by then! At least his doctor’s appointment is already scheduled for Friday. I hope to have him tested to make sure it really is a peanut allergy, and also to see if there is anything else I should avoid. I really hope he outgrows this allergy, though!

9 Comments

Filed under Family

9 responses to “Peanuts Are Evil

  1. Lindsay

    Did the Benadryl help? You can also put a cold wash cloth on the parts he’s itching.

  2. Poor thing! I also really hope it is something he outgrows. Some kids do, so he may be able to have it later in life. Praying that he is back to 100% for his big day tomorrow.

  3. Alex

    Poor little guy. These pictures make me think of my own nine month old son who’s been suffering from the flu for the past week. I certainly hope this is an allergy that he will eventually overcome. It’s so scary when they get sick and you feel like there’s not much you can do for them. Praise the Father he isn’t suffering from respiratory problems due to this. Happy birthday to your beautiful son, though. I hope it’s a great day for all of you.

  4. Michellene

    Poor lil bubbas. I am so sorry he had to go through this. Sorry you had to as well mama.

    xxoxoxox

    Happy Birthday to that sweet lil man!

  5. Jayne

    Oh doesn’t that bring back memories! My daughter, now 13, was just over 11 months when diagnosed with a peanut allergy. Unfortunately for her (and us) it was anaphylactic and she never did outgrow it. Ironically, I was just diagnosed last month with a peanut allergy myself, at 41 yrs old! I had no idea how it was affecting me until I stopped eating it. I found out I am also allergic to soy, which is in EVERYTHING! I hope your little guy feels better and that you find a great pediatric allergist who can guide you through the best path for how to handle this.

  6. Danielle

    Poor little man! Hives are just miserable!!! I hope he is feeling better. Oh and Happy Birthday, Micah!

  7. Dan

    So sorry to hear- my dad was allegic to peanuts, which is why I never cared for them. Hope he has a good birthday! Take care.

  8. Dan

    And sorry, I didn’t realize this was an older post. Hope he HAD a good birthday that year! lol thanks

Leave a Reply

