Life With Two Babies

I hope I don’t jinx myself by saying this, but taking care of two children is not as hard as I thought it would be. For three weeks now, I have been babysitting a beautiful baby girl four days a week. She arrives just after Micah wakes up in the morning, and she leaves just before he goes to bed. The thing is, two babies is not twice the amount of work. One was already quite a bit of work to begin with; adding one more to the mix didn’t require a whole lot of adjustment because we do everything together. When she eats, Micah has a snack. When she sleeps, I’m either playing with Micah or he’s taking a nap as well,and life doesn’t feel too much different at all. When she’s awake, we all park it on the living room floor and play. They entertain each other.

Micah is entranced by her little feet. He is always pulling off her socks and gently grasping her foot. She squirms and he is even more intrigued. If she makes one little peep, even so much as a cough, he immediately must find her. His eyes search the room until he sees her and then he looks to me as if to say, “What is wrong?”

They are nine months apart and right now the differences are pretty staggering – he’s at least twice her size – but I realize that in just a few years, they will look about the same age and will likely become partners in crime. That is when life will get really interesting. All I can say is, I hope they get along!

4 Comments

Filed under Family

4 responses to “Life With Two Babies

  1. Micah is so cute! I know I say that everytime I leave a comment, but it’s the truth! Glad to hear everything is going well. 🙂

  2. Aw, I miss hanging out with Micah already! He really is such a good little playmate. Lydia had so much fun playing with him when we visited!

  3. Michellene

    Oh my! Take a pregnancy test!

    These pictures are too precious. I love that Micah is enamoured with her little tootsies. So cute.

    I love your post about the grass…I was thinking to myself…wasn’t there just snow? Then now you will snow again right? It’s been a balmy 76 degrees here.

    Wish you were here!

Leave a Reply

