My New Favorite Toy

There is something that I have wanted for years. I have had a digital SLR on my wish list for about eight years now, but they are pretty expensive. When Eric and I got married, we each had that dream toy we promised to buy each other. He wanted a big screen TV, and I wanted that camera. Last year, we finally bought the big screen. It probably wasn’t the best timing, but every time we got some money, he would push to buy the TV and then become incredibly disappointed when it didn’t happen. We always ended up having to spend the money on something else. It never failed, something would break and the extra money would go right out the window. He would bring up the fact that he had spent the money he had saved up for the TV on DATING me, and that guilt trip got really old really fast. Now you understand why I basically agreed to buy the TV so he would finally let it rest. He was so excited he looked like a kid in a candy store. He has thoroughly enjoyed the TV ever since.

The camera was my big screen, so to speak, except nobody was telling me no, but me. I always felt compelled to spend the extra money on other things, like sending in double payments on my student loans. The longer I put it off, though, the more I realized, I am never going to buy myself this camera. One day, I will be 50 and all of my kids will be moved out. There will always be something else. I will have never bought the camera, never pursued my dream of essentially becoming my own professional photographer and filling my photo albums with beautiful memories. I will regret it.

So when we got our tax return this past month, I told my husband, “I have to buy it now or I never will.” I have to make it priority because I want to enjoy it while Micah is still a baby, while there are still so many photos to be taken. Now is the time!

So I bought a Nikon D3000. I absolutely love it. I told Eric, “I want to make out with it.” Haha. Not really. This is one of those things I will never get tired of, just like Eric still really enjoys that TV. Yeah, I could have hoarded that money, but money is not just for paying bills (extra payments, I mean, you should always pay your bills), you have to enjoy some of it, too. It’s my last hurrah before we really crack down on the debt snowball (thanks to Dave Ramsey). From here on out, we’re going to be seriously throwing everything that comes our way towards our debt. The good news is that we can be debt free (including our mortgage) in under ten years if we stick to the plan, and that is if Eric never gets a pay raise. I’d really like to see us become debt free even sooner than that. That is my big dream: to have NO debt whatsoever.

2 Comments

Filed under Finances, Hobbies

2 responses to “My New Favorite Toy

  1. Yay for your new toy! You deserve it, Kim. I’ve been amazed by the hard work you do to help your family financially. You’ve earned that reward. πŸ™‚

  2. Kim, I am so jealous! Mickey and I were talking about the possibility of buying a new one for me as well. I’m not sure he is totally convinced! πŸ™‚ Lana

Leave a Reply

