In Which She Collapses On The Keyboard

I am floating somewhere between exhausted and wired. My mind is racing as I ponder the events of this past week. It’s clear I am venturing into new territory in mommyland, a terrain full of bumps and detours.

My little baby is developing his own will.
He has also been ill.
He loves to lean on the window sill.

His whining has become very shrill.
Obviously he’s adorable still.

I am amazed at his ability to quickly lift up the floor vent and drop his pacifier down the heat duct in one smooth motion. He broke his first glass by swinging those crazy arms over the table and hurling it to the floor. Isn’t that like an official milestone? He pulled the last six sheets of toilet paper off the roll when I wasn’t looking. He has discovered his crib mattress makes a great trampoline. Nothing gets him more hyper than crawling around his room naked after a bath. He ate his first pancake. He sometimes screams when he doesn’t get his way.

He caught a cold this week, and of course every time he coughs I cringe. It sounds like mucous is breaking up in his chest. I remember coughing like that as a kid just about every winter during my “annual chest cold” as I called it. Because of this, I don’t worry. I still may take him in tomorrow to make sure his ears are clear, however; he keeps pulling at them.

Even though he is becoming quite the mischievous little fellow, he has also become such a sweetheart. It’s really endearing the way he gently touches my cheek or grabs his grandpa’s face with both hands and pulls his head in for a little nuzzle. He starts waving every limb and finger and toe when his daddy gets home from work. He squeals with excitement and crawls to the door to greet him.

I could go on and on of course, but this kiddo has tired me out and my bed is calling my name. I’ll try to update again soon, but no promises!

1 Comment

Filed under Family

One response to “In Which She Collapses On The Keyboard

  1. Kim, Isn’t motherhood wonderful? Enjoy all of the “bumps in the road” b/c before we know it they will be driving and “out on the road!” Hope you got lots of much needed rest! 🙂

Leave a Reply

