Date Night

Fun: The Worst Case Scenario Game of Surviving Life

If you’ve ever wondered how to correctly fall down the stairs, keep a person from swallowing their tongue, or what to order when your date has halitosis (guacamole, of all things!), this game is perfect for you. What’s funny is when you find yourself acting out a scenario in an attempt to guess the right answer. We ended up in a tie except Eric had more body parts left than I did.  And I’m now fairly certain that I would never survive in a worst case scenario.

Food: Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Here’s the weird part, Eric originally said he didn’t want to help bake, but then he ended up doing most of the work. He’s a closet Emeril. We used the recipe from the Better Homes and Gardens Cook Book (you know, the red and white checkered binder) and added cinnamon – they turned out amazing! We can’t stop eating them…. and that’s why we don’t bake very often. This was the first time Eric used the stand mixer I bought  for myself with my birthday cash. Growing up, he baked a lot of cookies, but always stirred the batter by hand.  He was impressed with how much easier it was to throw the ingredients in a bowl and watch the mixer do all the work. That mixer was a Walmart door buster – definitely worth my $17.

Show: The Office (x3)

We dragged the memory foam, pillows and blankets off our bed down to the living room and camped out on the floor for an Office marathon. Cookie crumbs may have ended up in the sheets… It’s funny because I remember doing this with my sister when we were little. For some reason watching TV is so much more fun when you’ve built this impressive pile of blankets and pillows on the floor, like a fort without walls. Here I am at 26 and I still love it. I look forward to having a pile of kids on the floor with us for movie nights someday. Speaking of The Office, is it just me or does Dwight Schrute get funnier every season? I think he’s becoming my favorite character on the show.

Dwight K Schrute from The Office (tvfanatic.com)

I think that was pretty much my ideal night! How do you like to spend time with your family?

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Food, Marriage

Leave a Reply

