Trouble

Remotes. Cords. Furniture. Doors. Walls. Garbage Cans. The Dishwasher. The Laundry Room. Straps. Items on the shelves in the Grocery Store.

These are just a few of the things that Micah has been getting into lately. Now that he is becoming increasingly mobile, I have to be increasingly aware of his wherabouts, because quicker than you can say, “Micah, no-no-no,” he’s devouring the TV Remote or dismantling the coasters under the coffee table. I used to be able to lay him on a blanket and know that he would still be there when I returned from using the bathroom or throwing in a load of laundry, but now he takes every opportunity he can get to explore new territory, which usually involves something I don’t particularly want covered in saliva. When I’m grocery shopping, I have to keep the cart in the middle of the aisle, otherwise he leans over and tries to grab food off the shelf, and at his age that means knocking if off the shelf.

Last week he learned how to pull himself up, and that has made him even more of a little mischief-maker.

Exhibit A:

Micah is eating the fitness hoop I hid behind the couch.

Yes, he is a little climber. So,  in preparation for his advancing skills, we are taking down the cheap six-foot bookshelf in the living room and storing it in the guest room instead. We are going to figure out some way to make sure the fireplace “cage doors” stay shut. I am moving everything off the coffee table (including my beautiful centerpiece) and will store baskets of toys underneath it instead to appease his curiosity. We’ll be looking for baby gates pretty soon, too.

I’m not going to go crazy with the baby proofing, though, because I don’t want to have a false sense of security. I need to have my eyes on this kid at all times, even if it’s inconvenient. So far, he has already proven he can do the impossible, so I’m not going to put my trust in plastic baby-proofing devices. I have decided there is no such thing as baby-proof, only baby-resistant. Since Micah already has the title of “Crib Houdini” (I’m sure you can figure that one out), I wouldn’t be surprised if he figured out how to manipulate the rest of his environment as well.

I’m actually looking forward to this stage because I have started to grow tired of watching him lay there and suck on his toes… I am ready for some action and excitement. I can’t wait to play “chase me” with this kid!

4 Comments

Filed under Family

4 responses to “Trouble

  1. Now the fun begins!!

    I took precautions without going overboard with babyproofing. I heard someone say that rather than babyproof your house, you should house proof your baby. By teaching them what they can and can’t get into/do/touch, you teach them to how exhibit that behavior everywhere they go. I don’t want to have anxiety about being in an un-babyproofed (how’s that for making up a word) house because I chose to let “plastic babyproofing devices” do the work for me.

    • Kim

      That’s exactly what my mom told me, too. It’s better to teach them than to block everything. I like ‘un-babyproofed” – I may use that word in the future. 😉

  2. Lindsay

    That’s what we did with the girls. We didn’t “baby-proof” the house (or my parents house). I just watched them really well.

  3. Aunt Kelly

    Ummm that is my hula hoop. There better be no bite marks when I get it back!!!

Leave a Reply

